Delegation from NAEC and the Russian Federation meet with Hon. Ministers of Finance and Power respectively.
On 29th July, 2021, the delegation from NAEC and the Russian Federation lead by The Ag. Chairman NAEC, Prof Yusuf Ahmed met with the Hon. Minister of Finance represented by the Perm. Sec, Mallam Aliyu Ahmed. The delegation also met with the Hon. Minister of Power. Read more here.

Meeting with Hon. Min of Finance

Nigeria-Russia Meeting in the Area of Peaceful Use of Nuclear Power.
A delegation of Russia JSC RUSATOM is visiting Nigeria from 26th- 28th July 2021. They are scheduled to hold talks with the SGF, Ministers of Power and Finance and deliberate on agreements signed so far between the two countries. The SGF on Tuesday, 27th July, 2021 received the delegation of Russia JSC Rusatom and NAEC delegation in his office. Read more here.

Group Photograph

Cooperative virtual meeting between NAEC and the World Nuclear Association, 22nd July, 2021.
The focus of the meeting was on the importance of collaboration between Nigeria and the World Nuclear Association in the different aspects of nuclear science and technology particularly on the need for Nigeria to participate the Working Groups of the WNA in order to share ideas that will transform into the responsible deployment of nuclear science and technology for the socioeconomic development of the country. Read more here.

FG Inaugurates Russian-Nigerian Joint Coordination Committee (JCC).
The Federal Government has inaugurated the re-constituted Russian-Nigerian Joint Coordination Committee (JCC), of Nigeria Atomic Energy Commission (NAEC), in an effort to resuscitate the relationship between the two countries in cooperation for the peaceful use of nuclear energy. Read more here.
From Left. Prof. Yusuf Ahmed (Ag.Chm, NAEC), Dr. Habiba Lawal (PS/EFO)

Vice Chancellor, University of Abuja Visits NAEC Center.
The Vice Chancellor (VC) University of Abuja, Prof. Abdulahi Na’allah on Tuesday, 13th July 2021 visited The Nuclear Science and Technology Center(NTC), Sheda. The purpose of the visit was for the VC to familiarise himself with the laboratories and equipment at the center and also explore ways in which the University can collaborate with NAEC. Read more here.

Russian Charge D’Affaires Visits NAEC.
Charge D’Affaires of the Russian Embassy in Nigeria, Mr. Valery Shaposhnikuv on Wednesday, 2nd June 2021 visited the Commission. He was received by the Ag. Chairman, NAEC Prof Yusuf Ahmed who briefed him on the collaboration between the two countries on Nigeria’s nuclear energy programme. Read more here.

Valery Shapisnikuv (Russian Charge D’ Affaires)
and Prof. Yusuf Ahmed (CHM NAEC)

Newly Appointed Chinese Ambassador to Nigeria Visits NAEC.
The newly appointed Ambassador of the People’s Republic of China to Nigeria, His Excellency Cui Jianchun on Wednesday May 26th, 2021 paid a courtesy visit to the Commission to familiarise himself with areas of interest between China and Nigeria. Read more here.

From Left. Prof. Yusuf Ahmed (Ag.Chm, NAEC)
and HE Cui Jianchun

Post Graduate Students from BSU Visit Gamma Irradiation Facility
On the 3rd and 4th of May, 2021, some Post Graduate Students and a Senior Lecturer from Benue State University had a two day excursion/Facility visit to the GIF. Activities during the visit included sensitzation tours, paper presentations, laboratory practicals ad a visit to the Ag. Chairman. Read more here.

NAEC Signs MOU with Ekiti State Government.

On Tuesday, 20th April, the Nigeria Atomic Energy Commission (NAEC) on behalf of the Federal Government singed a MoU with the Ekiti State Government on the State’s proposed Ekiti Knowledge Zone (EKZ) on the peaceful application of Nuclear Science and Technology for Research and Product Development. Read more here.

 From Left: Ag. Chairman/CEO (NAEC), Prof. Yusuf Ahmed and Mr. Abiodun Oyebanji (SSG), Ekiti State.

Nuclear Technology Application for testing in the Fight against COVID-19

The IAEA has provided Nigeria through NAEC, COVID-19 testing equipment using nuclear techniques. The diagnostic technique used called Real-Time Reverse Transcription Polymerase Chain Reaction or RT-PCR is unique to nuclear technology. Read more here.

China National Nuclear Corporation signs memorandum of cooperation with NAEC

Wang Shoujun, chairman of China National Nuclear Corporation, met with the Prof. Simon Mallam, chairman of NAEC  after which a memorandum of understanding on nuclear energy cooperation was signed. Read full report here.